Although Whole30 might sound restrictive, it’s really not. What’s available to eat should be what you’re already consuming. The point is, you can eat basically anything that comes from the Earth (we’ll get to the foods not Whole30 approved) and that’s not processed. Choose foods with ingredients that are natural and should be in food, and stay away from foods containing chemicals. Meat, seafood, eggs, fruits, and vegetables are all part of the Whole30 diet. As are natural fats, herbs, and spices and seasonings.
Sugar and products containing sugar or artificial sweeteners are a no-go. This includes sweeteners deemed healthier than raw sugar such as honey, agave nectar, date syrup, stevia, Splenda and so on.
As for foods that come from the earth but are still off limits, that’s grains and most legumes. Grains can be anything from wheat and rye to quinoa to the starch you use as a thickening agent, which contains corn.
Legumes include your standard variety of legumes but don’t forget that a peanut is considered a legume and not a nut, so peanuts, in any form, are off limits. Soy, in any form, is also on the list of foods you can’t eat.
And finally, no dairy or dairy products regardless if it comes from a cow, goat, or sheep.